Community Property State

The states of Arizona, California, Idaho, Louisiana, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Washington, and Wisconsin (along with Alaska upon opt-in) are considered community property states. In these states, spouses receive an equal interest in any property that is acquired during the marriage, even if only one spouse is named in the deed. Exceptions generally include inherited property or ownership rights that are waived by a prenuptial agreement.